baking

Making Tanya Burr birthday Cupcakes – Collab

Hey guys,

I am so excited to be writing this post as it is a collab with the wonderful Frances from Royally Rouge! This post is part of her collab month that she is doing on her blog. I am so happy to be a part of it, so thank you Frances!

We decided to do a blog post on baking (which is not something I normally do) however this was super fun. In celebration of my birthday, I am making the birthday cupcakes from the Tanya Bakes book. They turned out super well and I really encourage you to try them. Hope you enjoy.

Ingredients:

  • 50g butter, softened
  • 180g caster sugar
  • 160g plain flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 160ml milk
  • 1 egg
  • a splash of vanilla extract

 

  • 500g icing sugar
  • 250g butter, softened
  • half a teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • food colouring of choice

 

 

put 50g of butter and 180g of caster sugar into a bowl and beat them together. The mix does not go fluffy but they will be okay in the end.

Fold in 160g of flour and 2 tsp of baking powder into the mix and then slowly add the milk.

img_0531

Next add 1 egg and add a dash of vanilla extract and mix together. At this point, we mixed it very well to ensure a lot of air was in the mixture.

Add the mixture into 12 case (I only had 10 cases) and put in the oven for 20 minutes at 180 degrees. The oven should be pre-heated.

mix 500g of icing sugar at 250g of butter together and add any food colouring if wanted. decorate the cakes as you want. I did a simple round piping and added little princess decoration to them. I am honestly quite proud of my piping.

img_0544

This is the end result! I really love the way they turned out and I would love it if you made them to. if you do recreate these, feel free to send me a picture on my Instagram or twitter.

Bye xx

Leave a Reply

